Quick Links

Quick Links

The Crossways Schools

Meet The Governors

Crossways Federation Governing Board


The Crossways Schools have one governing board that provides oversight to both the Crossways Infant School and the Crossways Junior School in the federation, collectively referred to as “Crossways’.

  • Chair of Governors:  David Jenkins
  • Vice Chair: Anthony Phillips
  • Clerk to the governing board: Rachel Beattie

For the full list of governors and the latest attendance and pecuniary information please see the attached files.

The governing board consists of staff, parent and community governors; ensuring stakeholders across the Crossways community are represented.

The Chair of Governors and the Vice Chair are appointed annually.


The governing board have three core functions:

  1. Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  1. Hold the Federation Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of Crossways and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff
  1. Overseeing the financial performance of Crossways and making sure its money is well spent

The governing board fulfil these responsibilities through the Full Governing Board and governors focusing on individual priorities (referred to as link governors), which are align with the School Development Plan and agreed annually.

In addition, governors review and approve the policies used by Crossways to ensure that they reflect the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the schools, as well as ensuring compliance with statutory requirements.

The day-to-day operational and strategic leadership of Crossways are the responsibility of the Federation Head Teacher and the other members of the Federation Leadership Team.


Name Status Term of office
David Jenkins Chair of Governors, Local Authority 01.01.24 - 31.12.27
Adedotun Adeyemo Co-opted governor 19.10.23 - 18.10.27
Emma Aiken-Jones Co-opted governor 11.01.24 -10.01.28
Dominique Ayotte-Reader Elected Staff governor 23.05.23 – 22.05.27
Sam Baker-Green Parent Governor 01.09.23 – 31.08.27
Tom Baxter Co-opted governor 01.09.23 – 31.08.27
Alan Bucke Co-opted governor 24.09.23 – 23.09.27
Claire Clarke Federation School Business Manager, Co-opted (staff) 15.10.20 - 14.10.24
Katey Dowdeswell Co-opted governor 01.09.22 - 31.08.26 
Katy Eales Co-opted governor 01.09.22 - 31.08.26 
Jo Geoghegan Federation Head Teacher Duration of employment
Paul Medlicott Federation Deputy Head Teacher, Co-opted (staff) 01.09.22 - 31.08.26
Anthony Phillips Vice Chair of Governors, Co-opted governor 16.09.21 - 15.09.25 
Carrie Rees Parent Governor 01.09.23 – 31.08.27
Rachel Beattie Clerk to FGB & all committees Employed Post

Structure of the governing board

The Full Governing Board meet as a group at least eight times a year.

Federation Head Teacher performance management is carried out by a separate panel of two to three governors (supported by a local authority educational specialist) that report into the Pay Committee.

Full details of the scheme of delegation are set out in The Governing Board Protocol, see the document attached.  Each committee also has Terms of Reference which are approved by the Full Governing Board annually.

From time to time working parties of a small number of governors will be established to complete work in a particular area of focus.

Individual areas of focus (Link governors)

For the current academic year we have link governors which include the required roles, as well as those areas chosen by the governing board to align with Crossways’ School Development Plan:

link roles 2023 24.pdf


 Governor Contacts

We encourage everyone to use the established methods of communicating with school for day to day matters.  However, if you would like to raise a matter with the governors, please contact the Chair or Governors David Jenkins by email via the school office: c/o office@crossways.org.uk 


Business & Pecuniary interests 23-24

percuniary interests 23 24.pdf


 Governors attendance 2022-2023Crossways GB Protocol 23/24